Trail Runs in MO State Parks!

I came across a news article today that was promoting the Missouri State Parks Racing Series.  I decided immediately that I would complete them all!

I already registered for the first one. It’s a kayak/trail run, but I opted for the run portion only.  Mostly because I’m chicken, and I’ve never been in a kayak before.  Canoe…yes.  Kayak…no.  Hubby and I have decided to camp that weekend, so we will make it a family affair.  I hope it’s not too hot!


 

In October, I’ll be running this one.  Since the date coincides with one of the options for my half marathon, I guess I will officially be running the Go! St. Louis Halloween Half Marathon instead of the Mo’ Cowbell.  It feels good to have a definite race date set for my half! 🙂


I’ll be doing this 15K in November!


And competing this 12K tunnel trot in December!


Looks like I have a busy fall ahead of me.  Can’t wait!

Oh My Gawd! What Happened? Cheese Fries…That’s What.

 

 

My laptop is perched precariously upon my distended, gurgling, cheese fries-filled belly as I type this confession of gluttony.  Here’s how it all went down.

I needed to make a trip to see my dad in the hospital today.  We decided to make it a family affair.  I texted my brother to see how Dad was doing and if my mom would be around, since I’d be in the area.  Brother said he was taking Mom to our other brother’s house to grill a ridiculous amount of food, drink a ridiculous amount of barley and hops type beverages, and swim in this ridiculously hot weather.  I asked what time, and he said about noon.  I texted my other brother.  He said to stop by any time after noon.

It was mid-morning, I had just finished my coffee after sleeping in, and I decided to skip breakfast.  According to the brothers, I’d be eating a crap-ton of ribs in just 2 hours.  Game on.

We went to the hospital first.  Dad looked great.  Unfortunately, he said no one had been to see him.  He needed clean clothes–even his dry erase board with nurse names and the date had a note scrawled across it pleading that family bring Dad clean clothes. Why my brothers (who live in that town–one brother is minutes away from the hospital) hadn’t taken care of it, I’ll never know.  

Hubby, kids, and I visited a bit, and then we ran to buy him some clothes.  We brought his clothes back along with a couple of hostess cherry pies–his fav, visited a bit more, and left to get some grub at my brother’s house.

When we arrived around 2pm, everyone was in the pool.  Mom said they had just put the ribs in the smoker a few minutes prior.  Omg…I was staaaaahhhrrrving.  We hung out until a little after 4 while the kids swam.  Still no food.  We decided to leave. My mom became ill, and needed a ride home.  It took about a 1/2 hour to get her in the car, drive her home, and get her out and settled.  Now it’s almost 5.  I haven’t eaten all day.

We get to the restaurant.  The waitress takes forever to get to us, while my stomach slowly ate away at itself.  Finally, she comes to take our order, and I realize I have no idea what to get. Brain freeze.  Mental breakdown.  Much choices. Can’t brain. So food.  “Geez, just give me the Beer Cheese Fries as a meal,” I finally blurt out as I pass her the menu.

I am immediately disgusted with myself.  I’m sure the salads are amazing, and would have been much more refreshing on this 100+ degree day.  Nope.  Just had to get the greasy goodness.

I ate those damn cheese fries.  I ate the bejeezus out of em.  Every last one.  And they were good.  And I ran 8 friggin miles yesterday.  And I’m running 5 more on Tuesday, and another 5 on Thursday.  And I hadn’t eaten ALL day. If I want to eat cheese fries once in a blue moon, I can.

Tomorrow, I’ll sneak in a killer crosstraining workout to burn some calories.  I also scored a ton of garden tomatoes today when I was at my brother’s house–his father in law brought me a bucket! Yes!  Nothing better than a garden tomato.  I’ll be eating that and some veggie kebabs.  Yum-o!  AND…I bet they will be way better than those cheese fries!

 

Here’s to healthy eating, active lifestyles, and an occasional treat! 

Happy running!